The Electronic Materials Symposium is an inter-disciplinary conference that presents a broad spectrum of expert views on problems at the intersection of electronic materials and devices. The one-day symposium seeks to inform participants about challenges that excite today's materials scientists through a series of invited talks by experts in their respective fields.

The 47th Annual Northern California Electronic Materials Symposium, co-sponsored by TMS and IEEE Santa Clara Valley Section, will be held at Stanford University (Allen 101x Auditorium) in Palo Alto on Friday, May 10, 2019. The program features presentations on advanced electronic materials processing techniques and devices, and analytical techniques by outstanding speakers who have made significant contributions to their respective fields. Registration will begin at 8:00 am.


        Coming Soon!

Topics 2018 (Feel free to check the this year program details under "Program Booklet" tab)

"Digital Atomic-Scale Fabrication", Dr. John Randall - Zyvex Labs

"Gene editing: past, present, and future", Dr. Kathryn Loving - Caribou Biosciences

"Quantum information and a Michelson-Morley test with electrons", Prof. Hartmut Haeffner - UC Berkeley

"Recent advances in neural dust: towards a neural interface platform", Prof. Michel Maharbiz - UC Berkeley

"Quantitative biology with droplet microfluidics", Prof. Adam Abate - UC San Francisco

"A guided safari through the properties of over 1000 2D materials revealed by data mining techniques", Prof. Evan Reed - Stanford University 

"Label-free isolation of cells using magnetic levitation", Dr. Andreja Jovic - Levitas Bio

"Atom-by-atom characterization of nanomaterials with STEM tomography", Prof. Mary Scott - UC Berkeley

The registration fees for the 2018 EMS meeting were as follows:

General: $110 (after April 22nd - $125)

Graduate Students: $70 (after April 22nd - $80)

Retired: $100 (after April 22nd - $110)

Santa Clara University Students: $60 (after April 22nd - $70)

Gold Sponsorship: $500

Platinum Sponsorship: $900 

Click here to register.

Click here for location and parking information.

To view past programs of the Symposium, click here.


IEEE Santa Clara Valley Section
The Material Society


Ernesto Marinero

Purdue University

James Spallas


KLA Tencor

Jonathan Fan

Stanford University

Jeongwon Park 

University of Otawwa

Dragoslav Grbovic

Naval Postgraduate School

Ning Cheng 


Toshishige Yamada

Santa Clara University & U. C. Santa Cruz

Jie Yao

UC Berkeley

Alberto Salleo

Stanford University

The Electronic Materials Symposium Committee exists to promote the understanding of electronic materials within the industrial and academic communities of the San Francisco Bay Area. This committee organizes the annual Electronic Materials Symposium, featuring presentations on advanced electronic, magnetic and optical materials processing, characterization and devices by outstanding speakers who have made significant contributions to their fields. Proceeds of the symposium are used to support electronic materials research and education in local universities.